My Review of Clifford: The Big Red Dog

Man, this dog is big.

Jack Shepherd
3 min readNov 14, 2021

--

All photos: Paramount

I took my family to see Clifford: The Big Red Dog this weekend and boy, was I surprised by what I saw. Here’s the thing they don’t tell you: This dog is HUGE. I mean, it’s absolutely massive. And I know what you’re going to say: “We’ve seen big dogs before. We know how to handle big dogs. My uncle had a Great Dane or whatever, so I know what big dogs are like.” But let me stop you right there. Trust me when I tell you that this dog is bigger than you’re expecting. WAY bigger.

If you look at the posters for this movie, it does seem like the dog is almost comically large, but I had assumed that this was a trick of perspective. An exaggeration by an extremely dishonest and overzealous graphic designer. Imagine my complete bafflement when I get into the movie and the dang dog is the size of a HOUSE! People are going to think that I’m telling a tall tale, but I swear to you, this dog is a behemoth.

Now I know what you’re thinking, because I had exactly the same thought. “There’s absolutely no way this dang dog can really be that freaking ENORMOUS,” is what you’re thinking. “And that can only mean one possible thing: The people in

--

--

Jack Shepherd

I have a newsletter about crossword puzzles and a podcast about rom-coms. Formerly editorial director @BuzzFeed. Email: JackAShepherd at gmail