42 Thoughts I Had While Watching “The Dig”

I accidentally watched “The Dig” the other night. I loved it. This was my journey.

Jack Shepherd
5 min readFeb 26, 2021
All Photos: Netflix

Under the false impression that it was going to be one of those films where they dig too far and there’s something in the dark, I recently watched “The Dig.” These were my thoughts. Mild spoilers for “The Dig,” I think.

1. What is this, an archaeology movie? I don’t need to watch an archaeology movie, unless they’re planning on finding a mummy that comes back to life.

2. If it turns out to be some old bones or wood from the past that they dig up and not a dormant skeleton army, I am going to be VERY DISAPPOINTED.

3. Also, why isn’t Emma Thompson in this movie? Did her agent fall in a well when they were handing out “The Dig” scripts?

4. Casting Swoony McSexy from “The English Patient” as a grizzled old farmer who was presumably unearthed in the last dig was a deliberate choice to make me feel old.

5. I do like his attitude though. He is like, “I know about all the different kinds of dirt because I am basically made of old British soil and that…

--

--

Jack Shepherd

I have a newsletter about crossword puzzles and a podcast about rom-coms. Formerly editorial director @BuzzFeed. Email: JackAShepherd at gmail